Babar Azam of Pakistan made this record leaving behind Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli

Pakistan captain Babar Azam on Sunday (October 3) became the fastest batsman to complete 7,000 runs in the T20 format, surpassing Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli. Babar achieved this feat during the National T20 Cup match between South Punjab and Central Punjab in Rawalpindi.

After crossing the 25-run mark during Central Punjab’s chase of 120, the Pakistan captain reached the 7k mark in his 187th innings in the format. Gayle had scored 7,000 runs in T20 cricket in his 192nd innings, while the Indian captain had reached this milestone in his own right. 212th innings.

Of these 7,000 runs, 2,204 came in the international format, where he appeared in 61 matches for Pakistan – scoring at an average of 46.89 with a century and 20 half-centuries. In addition, Babar has scored 3,058 runs in franchise cricket, appearing in 84 matches in the Pakistan Super League, Caribbean Premier League, Bangladesh Premier League and England’s Vitality Blast.

in National T20 Cup Babar has scored 259 runs in six matches, which is the most by any player in the tournament with one century and one half-century. Central Punjab are currently ranked fourth in the table, consisting of six teams, with three wins from five matches.

Last week, Babar scored a scintillating century in the National T20 Cup representing Central Punjab against North. He now holds the record for most centuries in T20Is for Pakistan, surpassing the numbers of Ahmed Shehzad and Kamran Akmal. This was Azam’s sixth century in the shortest format of the game.

Prior to him, the Pakistan pair of Shehzad and Akmal were the joint record holders for most centuries for Pakistan in T20Is. Both of them have scored five hundred runs in the format.

The Pakistan captain also surpassed Kohli in the list of batsmen with most centuries in T20Is. Kohli has scored five centuries in 315 matches in T20 cricket. Babar, on the other hand, has scored six centuries in just 194 matches in the format. He now joins the likes of India’s Rohit Sharma and former Australia all-rounder Shane Watson in the list of batsmen with most T20I tons.

Back to top button