Bhawanipur by-election: BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal files nomination


Kolkata: BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal on Monday filed her nomination for the Bhawanipur Assembly bypoll, where she is pitted against Trinamool Congress candidate Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. Polling in Bhawanipur will be held on 30 September and the results will be declared on 3 October.

The CPM has fielded lawyer Shreejib Biswas from this seat, while the Congress has refrained from participating in the by-polls. Tibrewal, who is also a lawyer, filed his nomination at Survekshan Bhavan in Alipore. He was accompanied by other senior leaders of the party including Leader of Opposition Suvendu Adhikari and BJP MP Arjun Singh.

TMC’s Sovandeb Chattopadhyay, who won the election from Bhabnipur, resigned, prompting the Election Commission to announce a by-election so that Banerjee could contest it, after losing the election to Adhikari from Nandigram.

Banerjee has to be elected by November 5 to retain her chief minister’s post.

Back to top button