Breaking News

Center appointed Chief Justices to eight High Courts; five others transferred

The Center on Saturday appointed Chief Justices (CJs) in eight High Courts and approved the transfer of five other Chief Justices.

The Supreme Court Collegium had recommended the transfer of five Chief Justices on September 16.

Justice Akil Qureshi has been appointed as the Chief Justice of the Rajasthan High Court after transfer from the Tripura High Court, where he is currently the CJ. Justice Inderjit Mahanti, who was the CJ of the Rajasthan HC, has been appointed as the CJ of the Tripura High Court.

Justice Mohammad Rafiq will be the new Chief Justice of Himachal Pradesh High Court. He is currently serving as the CJ of Madhya Pradesh HC.
Justice Vishwanath Somadder, now CJ of Meghalaya HC, has been appointed as Chief Justice of Sikkim HC, while Justice AK Goswami, who is CJ of Andhra Pradesh HC, has been appointed as CJ of Chhattisgarh High Court.

The Center has appointed Justice Rajesh Bindal as CJ of Allahabad HC, Ranjit V More as CJ of Meghalaya HC, Satish Chandra Sharma as CJ of Telangana High Court. Prakash Srivastava as CJ of Calcutta High Court, RV Malimath as CJ of Madhya Pradesh HC, Ritu Raj Awasthi as CJ of Karnataka High Court, Arvind Kumar as CJ of Gujarat HC and Prashant Kumar Mishra as CJ of Andhra Pradesh HC. Appointed as CJ of State HC.

Back to top button