Breaking News

Center approves transfer of seven High Court judges

The Center on Monday approved the transfer of seven high court judges, accepting the recommendations of the Supreme Court Collegium headed by Chief Justice of India NV Ramana on September 16.

The Collegium had recommended the transfer of 18 High Court Judges, five Chief Justices of High Courts and 8 Chief Justices of High Courts. While the Center approved appointments and transfers of chief justices of high courts this month, at least 11 transfers are still pending. Since CJI Ramana took over in April, the collegium has made 106 recommendations for the appointment of high court judges.

Justice Ranjan Gupta was among the seven judges transferred from the Punjab and Haryana High Court to the Patna High Court; Justice TS Sivaganam from Madras High Court to Calcutta High Court; Justice Sureshwar Thakur from Himachal Pradesh High Court to Punjab and Haryana High Court; Justice PB Bajanthary from Karnataka High Court to Patna High Court; Justice Sanjeev Prakash Sharma from the Rajasthan High Court to the Patna High Court; Justice T Amarnath Gaur from Telangana High Court to Tripura High Court; Justice Subhash Chand from Allahabad High Court to Jharkhand High Court.

Back to top button