IPL 2021 playoffs explained: Who will face whom in Qualifier 1, Qualifier 2 and Eliminator?

IPL 2021 Playoffs: The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 has reached its business end with Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Delhi Capitals (DC), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) reaching the knockout stages .

Defending champions Mumbai Indians failed to make it to the last four for the first time since 2018 and interestingly, KKR secured a place in the playoffs for the first time since the 2018 edition.

Capitals finished the league stage at the top of the points table with 20 points, followed by CSK in second place. RCB also have the same number of points as CSK, but due to lower net run rate, they are third in the table, while KKR are fourth with 14 points.

Who will face in the IPL playoffs?

The top two teams, DC and CSK, will face each other in Qualifier 1 to be played in Dubai on Sunday. This will be followed by a face-off between RCB and KKR in the Eliminator on Monday, with the winner taking on the losing team in the first qualifier.

IPL Playoff – How does it work?

Qualifier 1 is played between the top two sides and the winner automatically advances to the final, while the losing side gets another chance to forfeit the final ticket. The losing team plays the winner of the Eliminator in Qualifier 2 and its results decide who advances to the final.

ipl playoff schedule

Qualifier 1 – Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings Sunday, October 10

Eliminator – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders on Monday, 11 October

Qualifier 2 – Defeat of the winner of Qualifier 1 vs. Eliminator on Wednesday, 13 October

IPL Final – Winner of Qualifier 1 vs. Winner of Qualifier 2, Friday, 15 October

CSK have won the IPL thrice (2010, 2011, 2018), while KKR have won the trophy twice (2012, 2014). Delhi Capitals finished as runners-up in the last edition and will look to improve the record this time.

Meanwhile, Virat Kohli, who is stepping down as RCB captain after the conclusion of this season, will look to win his maiden IPL trophy before handing over the captain’s band to someone else.

Back to top button