Journalists from Philippines and Russia win Nobel Peace Prize 2021

Oslo: Two journalists whose work has angered authorities in Russia and the Philippines were awarded the Nobel Peace Prize on Friday, honoring the right to free speech, which the prize-giving committee hailed as a worldwide threat. described in.

Norway’s Nobel Committee chair Berit Rees-Andersen told a news conference that Maria Reisa and Dmitry Muratov were awarded “for their courageous fight for freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia”.

“At the same time, they are representative of all journalists who stand up for this ideal in a world where democracy and freedom of the press continue to face adversity,” he said.

The award is a first for journalists since German Karl von Ossietzky won it in 1935 for revealing his country’s secret post-war re-arming program.

“Independent, independent and fact-based journalism serves to protect against abuse of power, lies and war propaganda,” Rees-Anderson said.

The Nobel Peace Prize will be presented on December 10, the death anniversary of Swedish industrialist Alfred Nobel, who established the prizes in his 1895 will.

Also read: Nobel Prize in Literature awarded to novelist Abdulrazak Gurna

By Naveen Bharat Staff


Back to top button