Journalists Maria Russa, Dmitry Muratov awarded the Nobel Peace Prize

The 2021 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to journalists Maria Russa and Dmitry Muratov.


The Nobel Peace Prize was awarded on Friday to journalist Maria Russa of the Philippines and Dmitry Muratov of Russia for their fight for freedom of expression in their countries.

Norwegian Nobel Committee chair Berit Rees-Andersen said the pair were honored “for their efforts to protect freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace.”

(This story has not been edited by NB staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Back to top button