Nepal’s Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba expands cabinet; Inducted 17 ministers


Kathmandu: Nepal’s Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba on Friday expanded his cabinet by inducting 17 ministers and two state ministers from the five-party ruling coalition, three months after assuming power.

With this, the strength of the government has now increased to 25, which includes 22 ministers and three ministers of state.

Earlier, the cabinet had only six members, including the prime minister and a minister of state.

Prime Minister Deuba was unable to expand his cabinet due to prolonged power-sharing talks between the five-party ruling coalition.

He himself was heading 17 ministries.

Five ministers from the newly formed CPN-Unified Socialist, four ministers and a state minister from the Madhes-based Janata Socialist Party and five ministers and a state minister from the CPN-Maoist Center headed by Pushpa Kamal Dahal “Prachanda” have been inducted.

Similarly, the Deuba-led Nepali Congress has got eight ministers and one minister of state, according to sources in the presidential office.

Bal Krishna Khand of the Nepali Congress has retained the Home portfolio, while Narayan Khadka of the same party has retained the post of Foreign Minister.

Kadhaka was appointed as External Affairs Minister by President Vidya Devi Bhandari last month.

Similarly, Nepalese Congress’s Minendra Rizal and Gyanendra Bahadur Karki have got Defense and Information and Communication ministries respectively.

Khatiwada has been appointed as the Minister of Health and Population in opposition to the CPN-Unified Socialist.

Janardan Sharma of CPN-Maoist Center retained the Finance Ministry.

The ruling coalition of five parties includes Nepali Congress (NC), CPN (Unified Socialists), Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) and CPN (Maoist Centre).

Back to top button