Breaking News

October 30 by-elections: Where are the by-elections being held; Who are the main candidates?

The stage is set for the October 30 by-elections to three Lok Sabha seats and 30 assembly constituencies, where several political heavyweights have stepped up campaigning efforts in the weeks leading up to the high-stakes elections.

The seats where Lok Sabha bypolls will be held include Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Mandi in Himachal Pradesh and Khandwa in Madhya Pradesh. Meanwhile, assembly by-elections will be held in 30 seats in 14 states.

Counting of votes will start from November 2.

Here is the list of electoral states and main contenders

A state in Eastern India

Assembly by-election in TarapurMunger) and Kusheshwar place (Darbhanga) in Bihar on 30 October. The bypolls are being held after the deaths of JD(U) MLAs Shashi Bhushan Hazari (Kusheshwar Sthan) and Mevalalal Choudhary (Tarapur).

In Tarapur, the RJD, which lost by 7,500 votes in 2020, has fielded Arun Kumar Sah, an OBC Bania candidate. Its strategy is to split the NDA’s core Bania vote, while retaining its own Yadav-Muslim vote. The JD(U), which has been winning the seat for more than two decades, has fielded OBC Kushwaha leader Rajiv Kumar Singh. Meanwhile, the Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) has fielded Chandan Singh, an upper caste Rajput; Congress has fielded Brahmin candidate Rajesh Mishra.

From Kusheshwar seat, JDU has fielded Aman Hazari, son of late MLA Shashi Bhushan Hazari, in the hope of a sympathy vote. The Congress has fielded Atirek Kumar, son of former Congress MLA Ashok Ram, who lost in 2020 by a narrow margin of 7,000 votes. RJD has fielded Ganesh Bharti.


There will be by-elections on Hanagal and Sindgi seats. The upcoming election is widely seen as a Reputation issue and first election test of new BJP chief minister, Basavaraj Bommai, who replaced veteran leader BS Yediyurappa on July 28.

Actually, one of these seats comes in Hanagal, Haveri district, which is the CM’s home district. This seat was vacant after the death of the former BJP MLA CM Udasi. After the death of the former, a by-election had to be held on the Sindgi seat. Janata Dal Secular candidate MC Managuli from the seat.

In Haveri, BJP has fielded Shivraj Sajjanar, a long-time party worker, in the field. Congress, on the other hand, has fielded Srinivas Mane, who lost in the 2018 state election to CM Udasi by a margin of 6,000 votes.

From Sindgi seat, BJP has fielded its MLA from 2008-2013 Ramesh Bhushanur. The Congress has fielded Ashok Managuli, son of JD(S) MLA MC Managuli, who died in January this year. The JDS has fielded Nazia Angadi, a female, minority candidate.

Himachal Pradesh

Himachal Pradesh will have one parliamentary and three assembly by-elections later this month.

The ruling BJP has fielded kargil war Hero Brigadier (Retd) Khushal Singh Thakur from Mandi parliamentary seat against former Congress MP Pratibha Singh for the upcoming by-election.

BJP has decided to field Neelam Saraik from Jubbal Kotkhai assembly constituency. Congress has fielded former MLA Rohit Thakur here.

Meanwhile, the BJP has fielded RSS-backed Ratan Singh Pal, a commission agent in Solan, from Arki, while the Congress has shown confidence in party general secretary Sanjay Awasthi.

In the Fatehpur constituency of Kangra district, the BJP has fielded Bhawani Singh Pathania, son of late Sujan Singh Pathania, who passed away after prolonged illness in February this year. Congress has fielded Baldev Thakur.

BJP’s Brigadier Khushal Thakur (Retd) campaigning in Mandi.
(Express photo by Navjeevan Gopal)


The campaigning for the by-elections to the Huzurabad assembly seat of Telangana came to an end on Wednesday. This has been necessitated by the resignation of former health minister Rajendra, who was dropped from the cabinet on May 1 on charges of land grabbing by a company owned by him.

The four-time MLA from Huzurabad had resigned from the TRS on June 4 and as an MLA before joining the BJP on June 14. He has been nominated by the BJP as its candidate.

Meanwhile, the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) has named Gelu Srinivas Yadav, head of the student wing TRS Vidyarthi, as its candidate. The Congress has fielded 29-year-old political novice B Venkata Narasimha Rao, who heads the state’s NSUI unit.

Rajasthan Rajasthan

In Rajasthan, by-elections are to be held in Vallabhnagar and Dhariawad assembly seats. The by-election had to be held after the death of the sitting MLAs.

From Vallabhnagar seat, Congress has fielded Preeti Shaktiwat, wife of late MLA Gajendra Singh Shaktiwat, while BJP’s candidate is Himmat Singh Jhala.

Meanwhile, in Dhariawad, the BJP has fielded Khet Singh Meena, while the Congress has chosen Nagraj Meena, who has already contested the assembly elections from the Dhariawad seat. five times in the past.


Deglur, only one constituency in Nanded district, will go to polls on October 30. The Congress has fielded Jitesh Antapurkar, son of Raosaheb Antapurkar, whose death led to the elections. Meanwhile, the BJP has made the former candidate its candidate. Shiv Sena MLA Subhash Sabne

Apart from Sabne and Antapurkar, the party’s Vivek Kerkar is also in the fray. Janata Dal (Secular), Parmeshwar Waghmare of Bahujan Bharat Party, Uttam Ingole of Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi and DD Waghmare of RPI(K).


The Ellenabad constituency in Haryana is set to witness a triangular contest – between INLD, BJP-JJP and Congress- during the by-elections to be held on October 30.

While INLD’s Abhay Chautala will fight to save his party’s existence in the assembly, the BJP has fielded the lone MLA of Haryana Lokhit Party. gopal kandK’s brother Gobind Kanda, and Congress made BJP rebel Pawan Beniwal their candidate.


Polling for five assembly constituencies- Gosaigaon, Tamulpur, Bhabnipur, Mariani and Thaura will be held on October 30.

The ruling BJP has fielded candidates in three of the five seats, leaving the remaining two seats to alliance partner UPPL. Meanwhile, the Congress fielded candidates in all five. Former Congress allies AIUDF and BPF are contesting on two and one seats respectively.

Himanta Biswa Sarma campaigning in Mariani (Twitter/Himanta Biswa Sarma)

Andra Pradesh

BJP and YSRC are face to face in the upcoming Badvel assembly by-election. The ruling YSRC has fielded Dr D Sudha, wife of late MLA Dr Venkatasubbaiah. Meanwhile, Suresh Panathala has been chosen as the BJP candidate.


BJP, a constituent of the ruling Meghalaya Democratic Alliance, will contest in one of the three bypolls to be held on October 30 in the state, while the opposition Congress decided to contest all three seats.

The BJP nominated its West Garo Hills district unit vice-president Kingston Marak for Rajabala constituency.

A senior party leader told PTI that the AICC has approved the candidatures of Highlander Kharmalki from Mawringneng, Kennedy C Khairim (former MLA) from Mawphlang and Hasina Yasmin Mandal from Rajabala.

The United Democratic Party had earlier announced that former Indian footballer Eugenesson Lyngdoh is its candidate for the Mawphlang seat, which was held by his father SK Sun.

Mamata Banerjee Campaigning for Bhawanipur by-election on Friday. (Express Photo: Partha Paul)

West Bengal

In Bengal, bypolls will be held in Khardaha, Shantipur, Dinhata and Gosaba. In Gosaba and Khardaha, two TMC MLAs died, necessitating elections. Meanwhile, two MPs from Dinhata and Shantipur Nishith Pramanik and Jagannath Sarkar resigned.

Back to top button