Parliamentary Standing Committees reconstituted, Sushil Modi heads panel on Personnel, Law and Justice

Naveen Bharat Editorial

Patna/New Delhi: Rajya Sabha MP from Bihar Sushil Kumar Modi has been nominated to chair the Parliamentary Standing Committee of the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice.

The former Deputy Chief Minister of Bihar had earlier chaired the Parliamentary Panel on Science and Technology and Urban Development. This is the first time that five MPs from Bihar have been entrusted with the responsibility of chairing these panels. Other MPs include Radha Mohan Singh for the Ministry of Railways, Dr Sanjay Jaiswal, Bihar BJP chief for Water Resources, Munger MP for Energy and JD(U) National President Rajiv Ranjan and Rama Devi for Social Justice Department and Empowerment.

Congress MP from Thiruvananthapuram Shashi Tharoor will continue on the IT panel despite opposition from some BJP MPs, while senior leader Anand Sharma will continue to head the home panel. Congress’s Jairam Ramesh will also continue to chair the science and technology committee.

In a minor reshuffle, Congress leader KC Venugopal has replaced Abhishek Singhvi for the defense panel, and RJD MP and DU professor Manoj Kumar Jha has been nominated from the railway committee to the labor department.

Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla and Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu on Saturday reconstituted over 24 committees. About 50 Rajya Sabha MPs from different parties have been entrusted with the responsibility of chairing the Parliamentary Standing Committees.

Back to top button