Breaking News

Philippine journalist Rasa and Russian journalist Muratov win the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize

philippines journalist maria resa And Russian journalist Dmitry Muratov won the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize on Friday.

“Ms. Reisa and Mr. Muratov are receiving the Peace Prize for their courageous fight for freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia,” Norwegian Nobel Committee chair Berit Rees-Andersen told a news conference.

“At the same time, they are representative of all journalists who stand up for this ideal in a world where democracy and freedom of the press continue to face adversity,” he said.

The Nobel Peace Prize will be presented on December 10, the death anniversary of Swedish industrialist Alfred Nobel, who established the prizes in his 1895 will.

Back to top button