Rajasthan bypolls: Gehlot, Pilot among star campaigners of Congress


Jaipur: The Congress has included Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and his former deputy Sachin Pilot as its star campaigners for the by-elections to the Vallabhgarh and Dhariawad assembly seats.

The list released by party general secretary KC Venugopal also names AICC in-charge of Rajasthan affairs Ajay Maken; and State Congress President Govind Singh Dotasara.

The ruling Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had last Thursday announced the names of their candidates for the October 30 bypolls.

Congress has fielded Preeti Shaktiwat from Vallabhnagar and Nagraj Meena from Dhariawad. In Vallabhnagar, BJP has given ticket to Himmat Singh Jhala. The BJP has fielded Khet Singh from Dhariawad.

The by-elections have been held due to the death of Congress MLA Gajendra Shaktiwat from Vallabhnagar and Gautam Lal Meena, BJP MLA from Dhariyawad.

In the Assembly of 200, the ruling Congress currently has 106 MLAs, BJP 71, Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLP) 3, CPI(M) and Bharatiya Tribal Party (BTP) 2 each and Rashtriya Lok Dal 1. There are thirteen independent MLAs. .

Back to top button