Singapore expands covid vaccination travel lane scheme to eight more countries


SINGAPORE: Singapore will expand its Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) scheme to eight more countries from October 19, allowing travelers to enter the city-state to be fully protected against COVID-19, without quarantine of the service, media reports quoted the citizen. Aviation Authority said on Saturday.

Fully vaccinated travelers from Canada, Denmark, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, the United Kingdom and the United States will be able to enter Singapore under this arrangement from October 19, Channel News Asia reported, citing the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore. Told happened. CAAS).

CAAS said the expansion is being conducted in a “cautious and step-by-step manner” to help “recover and rebuild” Singapore’s status as an international aviation hub with global connectivity.

Read also | PM Lee says Singapore will take 3-6 months to ‘new normal’, rules out Covid lockdown

“The vaccinated travel lanes will restore two-way quarantine-free travel between Singapore and the eight newly declared countries,” Transport Minister S Easwaran said during a press conference on Saturday.

It comes after “experience and confidence gained” from the first two vaccination travel lanes with Brunei and Germany, which were opened last month, the CAAS said.

On Friday, Singapore announced another VTL with South Korea from 15 November.

On Saturday, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong ruled out a complete lockdown, even as Singapore on Friday reported 3,590 infections, including 765 in migrant worker hostels, as well as six deaths.

Back to top button