Breaking News

Supreme Court Collegium lists 23 for the posts of HC judges

The Supreme Court Collegium has recommended 23 names of lawyers, judicial officers and additional judges for promotion as judges in six high courts.

The Collegium, chaired by Chief Justice of India NV Ramana, finalized the names of the High Courts of Madras, Rajasthan, Allahabad, Karnataka, Calcutta and Punjab and Haryana in its meetings held on 6, 7 and 8 October.

For the Madras High Court, it approved a proposal to elevate advocate J Satya Narayan Prasad as a judge. Four advocates – Kuldeep Mathur, Manish Sharma, Rekha Borana and Sameer Jain – and judicial officer Shubha Mejta have been approved for the Rajasthan HC.

The collegium recommended advocate Manu Khare as the judge of the Allahabad HC and advocated Ananth Ramnath Hegde, Cheppudira Monappa Poonacha, Siddaiah Rachaiah and Kannankuzhil Sreedharan Hemalekha for the Karnataka HC.

For Calcutta, it resolved to reiterate the recommendation to elevate advocate Sakya Sen as a judge. It also recommended the name of advocate Saubhik Mitter.

The collegium proposed to elevate five additional judges – Justices Suvir Sehgal, Alka Sarin, Jasgurpreet Singh Puri, Ashok Kumar Verma and Sant Prakash – and Meenakshi I Mehta, Karamjit Singh, Vivek Puri, Archana Puri and Rajesh Bhardwaj as permanent judges. approved. Punjab and Haryana High Court.

At an event on October 2, the CJI had said that the collegium recommended the names of 106 judges and nine chief justices for the high courts “after May (2021), out of which the government has recommended the names of seven more judges and chief justices”. approved.

Subsequently, on October 5, the government notified the transfer of 15 HC judges and on October 6 appointed nine more judges to five HCs from those recommended by the collegium.

Back to top button